Anime Central Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Nando

Complete novice and weight.

Nando   

Hello, I've been losing weight as recommended by my doctor. I've currently lost 30 pounds and am still going.

I want to start getting into cosplay.

I'm 6'1. So, depending on how well my weight loss goes I should be around 190-200 lbs by ACen next year.

My questions is when should I start putting my stuff together considering I'm going to be losing weight up until ACen.

Nando   

I'd say 3 months advance, and get basics done on a costume. Then like the week or two before, take it in and adjust, and if they have any little details, do those as well.

Okay!

Thanks for that. :)

Yeah, if you plan on losing weight, wait a bit longer for the parts of your cosplay that might be the most affected by that change. Last year with ACen 3 months away, I decided to lose weight. I had already started on my cosplays. Almost 15 pounds lighter, the pants I made were slipping off and the top was so loose! My advice would be to work on anything that you can that won't be affected by weight asap (I'm a super procrastinator, so the earlier I start, the better) such as props, headgear, what have you. And then 3 months out, start working on the things that WILL be affected by weight, like pants, and make them just a little bit too small. If you can't fit in them at your current weight, that would be motivation to keep your weight loss on track, and they should fit nicely by the time ACen rolls around!

Nando