Anime Central Forums
Shiggitay

Adult Responsibilities vs Anime Cons

So this post was inspired by someone in one of the ACen FaceBook groups. He said that due to adulthood and such responsibilities he feels he won't be able to attend any more cons this year. Can anyone relate to that? I'd totally like to attend more than what I already do, but given I only work at a convenience store in Boston and most of the cons I'd like to attend require a fair amount of travel, I don't have the money to pay for even that.. getting there. I'm 31 in a week....

I totally feel that. I've been attending cons since 2006 and they've been wonderful and I've met some amazing people because of them. However, things in my life have changed a lot since then. Last year I got engaged and I started a new job that works me about 40-60 hours a week. Add to that that I'll be starting school this fall and cons just don't hold the same importance to me anymore. I still love them and my finace and I are planning on doing Ramencon as kind of a yearly get away but this year will mark my last going to cons. I had planned on going to ACen just for a day but after Scandal was announced as the musical guest. I'm considering going the whole weekend. Colossalcon will be my final con. It has been a long and amazing journey and I've made friends I hope to keep for the rest of my life but as it has been said. All good things must come to an end and so is this. I'm sad sure but I'm much more excited to see what's ahead of me

This is my 9th year attending ACen. Granted, I'm only about to be 23 in a week and a half so I wouldn't count myself as old, but I have my share of adult responsibilities. (Like graduating college with 50k in debt, and buying a new car for another 25k...)