Anime Central Forums
LeenStar

How do I detangle a long wig?!

LeenStar   

Hello everyone! This year is my first cosplay and I got a wig from Arda Wigs (

pic ) (In Spanish Brown). However, the wig is a little longer than I expected, and being a wig noob, I didn't consider how long it would be on my short height. I got it 4 days ago, and I've been trying to keep it tidy and neat in the bag. But I've also been trying it on like crazy, because I'm working on matching my eyebrows to the color, and seeing what makeup looks best with it. Long story short, the wig fell from the "safe" place I had it in, and when it did, it started getting tangled and just an overall mess. I've been trying to brush it out very gently, but it seems like the minute I do one side, the next side gets tangled AGAIN. It has been such a pain in my rear, and I've been trying to work on this for the past 2 hours. I went on Youtube where I found a lot of tutorials on how to detangle, but there are so many ways! I want an easy and safe way, where I won't mess up my wig in the end. A lot of the "methods" people use have disclaimers, claiming these methods only work on certain colors, lengths, etc.

Has anyone ever had this problem before? If so, PLEASE let me know what has worked for you in the past or link me to the right direction. Help will be much appreciated.

PS: Sorry if this has been asked before.

I'm not too good with wigs, but I'd suggest trying to untangle it with your fingers. Don't use a brush/comb because that would pull out the fibers. I've also seen that many people say that you wash it first and then try to untangle it.

and I would suggest that you get a wig head. They cost about $5-6 at Hobby Lobby. Or maybe put it up on something that is head-like.

edit: also, this might be of some help. Everyone tackles it differently, you just have to find what works best for you.

Edited by MisakiMise

I recently went through the same problem with my first longer wig. :)