Anime Central Forums: Is ACen no longer an anime convention? - Anime Central Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Is ACen no longer an anime convention?

#1 User is offline   Epic_Fail_Guy 

• Bigfoot
  • Pip
  • Group: Bigfoot
  • Member No.: 10869

Posted 19 May 2014 - 02:42 PM

As a note, I've been attending ACen for 7 years but missed last year. So first of all,

THE GOOD:
-Lots of panels with a diverse range of topics. The ABe panels were all amazing and because of the increase in number and selection of panels I went to a lot more panels this year (Slayers, Lupin, Rave Dancing 101, a few others).

-Line con, or rather the lack of it. My friend got in line for his badge on Saturday at 10am. In past years this would have meant certain doom and a 4-6+ hour wait. This year he got it in just over an hour. Seriously, good job on this.

-Two really good international guests; ABe and Nobou. I'm so glad ABe attended again as two shows Lain and Haibane Renmei are two staples of anime and missed him years ago.

-Still very happy with all the 18+ events. I moved from Chicago (hometown) to the PNW two years ago and have also been going to Sakura-Con in Seattle since the move. SC is the same size at ACen but has banished hentai and has a significantly smaller and earlier ending Sat dance. It's night life in general is very little. This takes away from the con. ACen does not face this problem. Also, the burlesque show was good, but hard to see the dancer as the stage was too low.

THE BAD