• You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

CHICAGO STUDENTS MEET UP?

#1 User is offline   ShadowPriestess 

• Pip
  • Group: Newbie
  • Member No.: 27965

Posted 08 September 2011 - 07:09 PM

So I was just wondering if there were any Columbia students out there, or any students in general going to school in Chicago that would like to have a meet up of some kind. If we get at least a couple people in on this I really think we should make it happen. This is my 2nd year at Columbia and I'm still having a hard time making friends there. :( So if you think this would be a good idea please just post your response here and maybe even some ideas such as: where to meet, when, if for an event, etc.
VILLAINS NEED HUGS TOO!

#2 User is offline   SpaceDragon 

• Pip
  • Member No.: 5514

Posted 11 September 2011 - 05:07 PM

Hi ShadowPriestess,
I don't usually post here, but I wanted to say it's awesome you're putting yourself out there for a meetup. I graduated from Columbia four years ago. It was difficult keeping long-term friends since it's a heavy commuter school and I was between departments. For years, I attended another school's anime club because Columbia's was nearly non-existant. You can learn more about Columbia J.A.M. here, but their sites seem to be abandoned.

Nothing brings people together like a club. Most adult anime fans say that their club was their fondest memories in college. Maybe revive Columbia's club and meet people that way? It's difficult to find space outside of school, so take advantage of your tuition and hold meetings in the awesome theater spaces!

If you're not inclined to do that, lurk or post on AnimeChicago.com. Membership is free. Events listed there are open to the public.

Hope I've been helpful. Good luck in your endeavor!

#3 User is offline   animefarie 

• Bigfoot
  • Pip
  • Group: Bigfoot
  • Member No.: 18231

Posted 12 September 2011 - 08:24 PM