Anime Central Forums: GREAT tips for GREAT cosplays - Anime Central Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

GREAT tips for GREAT cosplays Need help? Starting out? Look here first!

#1 User is offline   GLaDOS 

• Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Member No.: 18721

Posted 29 June 2010 - 04:37 PM

I didn't see a thread specifically dedicated to overall advice on cosplaying (but then again, I didn't look very hard...) so I decided to compile a list of advice and tips to help YOU make the best costume you can. I've been making costumes and props since I was 11 years old, and have a lot of experience in stage work, costuming, and prop work. (Huzzah 4 years + of theater experience!) My father also has experience in prop work, and has been a cabinet maker for most of his life. He knows a thing or two also!

If you have any questions about making anything, please don't hesitate to PM me or comment here!

Some of these were relocated from my post on another topic. :) I hope I can get this pinned~!

- THE MOST EXPENSIVE FABRIC ISN'T ALWAYS THE BEST FABRIC TO USE. A lot of people make this common mistake, thinking that the more expensive a fabric is it's better for their purposes. Stop thinking like that. It isn't. Rarely, if ever. That's not to say you shouldn't spend a lot of money on your fabric. If it works for your costume, then wonderful. What I'm saying is just because it costs a frillion bucks, doesn't mean it's what you need!

- THE MORE YOU MAKE OF YOUR COSTUME YOURSELF, THE LESS EXPENSIVE IT WILL BE. You're paying for labor charges, and when you do it yourself your payment is the costume! If you're not confident in your skills, practice. :) And, if you're gonna commission someone, try and stay away from websites or ebay sellers that specialize in it. Stick to people you know, or people that you've heard do good work for a good price.