• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Shiny glasses help?

#1 User is offline   PlushSofa 

• Pip
  • Group: Newbie
  • Member No.: 65457

Posted 05 May 2014 - 02:51 PM

This is my first time cosplaying and also my first time posting, so here goes...

The character I want to cosplay is from an anime and has these absurdly reflective glasses.
Does anyone know anywhere I could buy more reflective glasses, or any ways I could make an existing pair more shiny? I know they're not going to GLOW like that, but I could at least try to catch light at the right angle.

Thanks so much!

#2 User is offline   Bulma Briefs 

• Regular
  • PipPip
  • Group: Regular
  • Member No.: 11893

Posted 06 May 2014 - 08:05 AM

You are in luck! A few years back I wanted to cosplay as Inui from 'Prince of Tennis', but his thing is that you NEVER see his eyes. His glasses were completely reflective. This is how I did it:

I bought a cheap pair of frames that looked like my character's. Sadly for me, the frames I found were reading glasses at Walmart that made it a little hard to see, but they were the weakest so it wasn't too bad.

To make the reflectiveness I went to Menards and bought reflective tint window film. Then you follow the instructions to apply the window film except you pop out the lenses and cut the film to size (you can trim it after the film dries). How the film works is when people look at you, it's completely reflective, but if it's dark out it doesn't work. Due to the lenses being slightly curved, the film tends to want to pull away slightly (like bubbling), but I just smooth it out to make it look nice and I've never had it completely come off. When you look through the lenses, it's like wearing sunglasses.