Anime Central Forums: Need advice from Metal/Metallic cosplayers - Anime Central Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Need advice from Metal/Metallic cosplayers Looking for some help on my first cosplay experience

#1 User is offline   Nique 

• Pip
  • Group: Newbie
  • Member No.: 64026

Posted 23 July 2013 - 09:53 AM

Hello everyone, I've been attending ACen for a couple years now and I've finally decided to cosplay. One of my costumes is going to be Cyborg from Teen Titans. I'm wondering if anyone has cosplayed as Iron-man or any other metallic anime/cartoon/video game characters and have some advice on how to make it look authentic while conforming to the rules of the convention.

#2 User is offline   Vineshia 

• Lurker
  • Pip
  • Group: Lurker
  • Member No.: 63360

Posted 23 July 2013 - 01:44 PM

This is the tutorial I used to start making armor. It's really rather inexpensive and light weight which is nice and I found that you don't have to go by the stove to mold it. A hairdryer works just fine as well as hot glue if you are putting pieces together but with the hot glue you gotta work fast.

Craft Foam Armor

This is a little less durable than other options.

If you wanted something more durable instead of using fabric use a product like Wonderflex, it's a plastic that when heated up (again a hairdryer will work) it can mold easily. Putting it on top of the foam makes it really comfortable to wear but still durable.

Hope this helps!
ACen 2015 - Let's Get Ready!

One Piece Shoots Me- Sugar (95%)
One Piece Shoots Husband - Dressrosa Usopp (90%)

ACen 2014 Pictures Here!
Thanks to Joruri-chan for my Avatar :)

#3 User is offline   Nique 

• Pip
  • Group: Newbie
  • Member No.: 64026

Posted 24 July 2013 - 06:39 AM

View PostVineshia, on 23 July 2013 - 01:44 PM, said: