• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

LEDs/EL Tape for an Eyepatch

#1 User is offline   Asteroidblues 

• Pip
  • Group: Newbie
  • Member No.: 63324

Posted 30 March 2013 - 03:05 AM

So sclera contacts are ridiculously expensive and my Cable cosplay requires a color eye. A colored contact is doable but not ideal for a real noticeable trait. So I decided to make an eyepatch similar to the Solid Eye from Metal Gear Solid 4. It would be made from either EVA foam or wood but I'm having trouble with the light. What I'm going for is pretty much just the Solid Eye but with a flat, horizontal rectangle illuminated in the center. Preferably yellow.

Solid Eye

So I ask, does anyone have any tips or tricks they've used with LEDs or EL panels in their costumes? I've researched EL panels/tape/wire and LEDs best I could but I've never worked with them and I'm no electrician. Sometimes what I see seems simple and other times it looks way too complicated. Plus I don't know exactly what's required to power them and where to get it. So I'd appreciate anyone with any experience that could lend some advice or expertise. Also, does anyone know if EL panels are even bright enough to be seen at a lit convention? Thanks!

This post has been edited by Asteroidblues: 30 March 2013 - 03:05 AM

#2 User is offline   slinkysan 

• Lurker
  • Pip
  • Group: Lurker
  • Member No.: 20384

Posted 18 April 2013 - 01:13 PM