• This topic is locked

Acen 2012: The Recap

#1 User is offline   xtrastage 

• Lurker
  • Pip
  • Group: Lurker
  • Member No.: 11970

Posted 29 April 2012 - 09:57 AM

This year, Acen was a bust for me. It was my eighth trip down to Rosemont, and the first I could legitimately claim I didn't have much fun at since 2007. Acen has all the same problems each year, and those are usually minor inconveniences. But this year...this year they transcended minor inconveniences and become completely intolerable. Let's recap.

THE GOOD

(*) The MLP shoot on Saturday was fantastic, even if they did move us out into the freezing cold.
(*) It was nice seeing some new faces at Artist's Alley.
(*) A thousand thanks to the IRT staff manning the elevators and breaking up the idiots that do shoots in front of the doors and escalators.
(*) Kudos to the staff for making the fire alarm evacuation a quick and painless process.

THE BAD

(*) The Hyatt was a fracking madhouse. Now, this is my first time in the Hyatt, so I don't know how it usually is, but we were situated on one of the towers. It was bad; people partying in the middle of the night in the hallways, people in the rooms next to us trying to lure the (not legal drinking age) females in our group to do shots, a room below us was blasting the same three Katy Perry songs over and over and trying to tear through the walls, judging by the room shaking blasts that we heard.
(*) Staff really needs to learn how to make lines more efficient. I forgot my badge at home halfway down and, rather than going home, I just decided to buy another one in the Liberty Room line. I waited for an hour and half even though there were about 50 people in line. Only after an hour and 15 minutes and moving about 20 feet in line did someone get the bright idea to separate cash and credit into a single line. It was at least nice that they gave out sheets to fill beforehand, but that was just absurd.