Mask/ Helmet Help For those seeking Mask or Helmet Help

#1 User is offline   CrimsonAnime 

• Obsessed
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Obsessed
  • Member No.: 18090

Posted 02 June 2011 - 12:03 PM

Hello!

Although I have been cosplaying for about 3 years, I still consider myself a cosplay novice because I have no idea how to use that many materials. I sew, use a glue gun and crayola model magic. This is the extent of my knowledge.

But I like to be complicated and in 2013 I plan to cosplay as Angewomon. I have plans on how to make every part of the cosplay EXCEPT...the helmet.

I feel like Resin would work best but I have no idea how to use it and therefore would LOVE some suggestions on materials to use that a novice would be able to use and grasp easily.

Some things I have heard others use/ would use as back up:
- duct tape
- paper maiche
- model magic
- Clay

I look forward to hearing suggestions!
A-Cen 2014 Cosplay (links are of me): Angewomon (Digimon) / Sailor Luna (Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon) / Hikaru (Angelic Layer) /
CURRENTLY SELLING ANIME/MANGA/WALLSCROLLS! PM FOR MORE INFORMATION!
(PHOTOS)A-cen 2013: Pocahontas //// Raven (Teen Titans TV Series)
(PHOTOS)A-cen 2011:Edward Elric //// Anthy (Rose Bride) //// Yoruichi(Shinigami Form) //// Diva(Final Battle)
(PHOTOS)A-cen 2010:Yoruichi(Shinigami Form) //// Saya (Vietnam/Crazy Form) //// Sailor Pluto //// Anthy (Rose Bride)
(PHOTOS)A-cen 2009:Diva(Final Battle) //// Sailor Pluto //// Edward Elric
The Official "Forum Kitten", A Rini Fangirl, TekoMuto fan

#2 User is offline   Millions_Knives 

• Masquerade Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: ACen Staff
  • Member No.: 8636

Posted 02 June 2011 - 01:36 PM

???
well this would be a good time to pop out some vids
try watching my copsplay rants vids (in sig)
may i suggest
foamies
wonderflex
pvc sheeting
foam

~yay vids saving me so much ranting~

of your list, paper maiche is likely best for this job
but id use wonderflex as a first choice