• This topic is locked

Thinking of moving to Chicago I need advice

#1 User is offline   KungPowKirby 

• Addict
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Addict
  • Member No.: 53583

Posted 03 June 2010 - 02:44 AM

So I've been playing around with this idea for several years now. Since my last adventure into the city, I've wanted to more than ever. The problem is, I have lived in Iowa my whole life. Mind you, I'm very well traveled, and actually spent a month there on a mission trip. I love the city and know I would be very happy there.

I need to know a few things before deciding for sure to move. If anyone could help me out with these questions I would be very appreciative.

-Rent: How much? I'm considering possibly a studio/efficiency as that's what I live in now. How much do these usually run in good neighborhoods? (Including Utilities and such) How hard is it to find somewhere that will allow one fully declawed cat? Also 1 and 2 bedroom information could be useful.
-What are the good neighborhoods? Which ones should I stay clear of?
-Cost of living: Food, Transportation, etc. How much does this usually run per month.
-Job Availability: I have minimal work experience as most of it has been through my family. I never worked in high school or during the beginning of college. How hard is it to find a job?
-Other possible cities: I would be willing to look into living in one of the surrounding cities/suburbs if they are substantially better. I would want them to connect to the city via public transportation, as well as, have good public trans themselves, as I have no desire to actually own a car.
- Anything else you might think I'd need to know???

I thank everyone in advance for their help. Wish me luck!
I love my ACen family! Whether or not I return next year- please know I love you all! Until we meet again!