Anime Central Forums: Are Furries Accepted At Anime Conventions? - Anime Central Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Are Furries Accepted At Anime Conventions? Just a question from a fellow costumer

#1 User is offline   SeeTheMutt 

• Pip
  • Group: Purge for Inactivity
  • Member No.: 11085

Posted 09 May 2007 - 09:01 PM

Hey there! I'm new to the forums, but I've been to ACEN 2005, and 2006. It's been a ton of fun...but I'm not an anime fan. My best friend is, so I come and support her and hold all her loot at the end of the day. Oh, the adventures! So, I do love this convention. Everyone is so nice, and I highly appreciate the artists alley, being an artist myself. I also bought a Kilala plush because she's adorable.

But a quick question, I just built this great kangaroo pirate costume, so would that be cool to wear to the convention? I'm a furry, and love to dress up as an animal (my previous costume being a dingo/husky mix, See). I'll probably end up wearing it anyway, since the next furry con is in November for me. But I just wanted some input from fellow con-goers!

#2 User is offline   Norumu 

• Lurker
  • Pip
  • Group: Lurker
  • Member No.: 68

Posted 09 May 2007 - 10:20 PM

I'll be honest.
I'm not a big fan of the furry thing, especially the sketchier sides of it. Just bugs me out a bit. I know people who feel similar. But on the other hand, I'm very respectful to it, and way more people are too. Honestly, it's an anime convention, it'll be accepted. :P Though, the issue with a big convention is that you'll have all kinds of people, hating and loving. That jsut happens with enough people. Heck, you can find people at ACen who hate anime. Or cosplay in general. It's gunna happen.

Don't let it stop you though. In my eyes, it's just like being another character. Some people may love it, and some may hate it. In the end, the fun is up to you. :D Hope to see you there!