Anime Central Forums: Neuroconnectivity & Social Implications - Anime Central Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Neuroconnectivity & Social Implications

#1 User is offline   Isildur 

• Regular
  • PipPip
  • Group: Purge for Inactivity
  • Member No.: 2496

Posted 25 July 2006 - 06:57 AM

http://money.cnn.com/2006/07/21/technology...dex.htm?cnn=yes

To begin, I'd like to ask all posters to please ignore the obvious hyperbole in that article. We're still decades away from the kind of connectivity they're dreaming of.

The question: In a world where the ability existed to link one's mind directly to a WAN, would you do so?

My response is a most definite no.

I'm a programmer; I was using computers before the www existed, back when measuring your connection to the net in baud was a good thing. Left alone to steer a conversation, I can lose people in a sentence trying to explain what I do for a living.

But as much as I use computers, and understand computers, I do not trust computers. My relationship with them has always been probational and always will be; if tomorrow I was given good cause to walk away from the keyboard, I would.

Neuroconnectivity concerns me for three reasons:
1) Because it takes something that was previously a convenience and makes it into a service. More then a service, even. Like the social security number or the credit rating... something that has the potential to dramatically alter a person's standing and role in society.

2) Because it weakens the definition of privacy of thought. Previously, the mind was the only bastion for personal privacy for which there was no way to transgress the rights of the individual. A person's actions in public can be watched, their home searched with a warrant, but in the end even torture cannot reliably force a person to divulge something they have a reason to keep to themselves.